50% OFF your first month of Helium 10
how to cancel amazon seller account

How To Cancel Amazon Seller Account

Table of Contents

Some people do not know that it’s possible to take a break from your Amazon Business without having to close your valuable seller account.

This guide will talk you through the entire process of canceling your Amazon seller account if that’s what you ultimately decide is best for you but also the alternatives to give you food for thought.

There are a number of reasons for sellers to temporarily halt their Amazon businesses, which is why Amazon facilitates sellers with a couple of options to do so.

Only you know exactly what will suit you best, but to get ti that point it is vital that you educate yourself by researching all the facts and see the different routes that lie ahead.

A refreshing break leading to resumption is viable, as is a break aimed to reflect and plan for a different course or new challenge before final cancelation.

Others may want to know for the future in case things turn sour and some may just want to get rid straight away and need the facts in front of them. Whichever category you fall into, our tips will provide some inside knowledge to assist your decision. 

Considerations Before Cancelling Your Amazon Seller Account

When to cancel you Amazon seller account reasonw

Before we discuss how to actually execute the cancellation, let’s first discuss a couple of things to keep in mind before you do so.

First of all, keep in mind that you would still have to pay monthly subscription fees even after you have deactivated your Amazon product listings. Secondly, do not forget to check for any pending orders for the products you intend to stop listing. 

Many sellers skip this and assume that Amazon will take care of canceling buyers’ orders automatically. This, however, is not true so make sure to deliver your orders if any (or else, be prepared for negative reviews).

The last thing you need to do is to continue replying to your customers within 24 hours. Contrary to what many sellers mistakenly believe, Amazon does not deactivate your Buyer-Seller Messaging even if your listings are inactive. 

How To Temporary Cancel Your Amazon Seller Account?

There are two ways to temporarily close your Amazon seller account: 

  1. Pause your product listings
  2. Delete your product listings

Money Saving: Potentially Downgrading To An Individual Account

Before you delete or deactivate your listings, there is another thing you need to take care of first: downgrading your professional account to an individual account.

We discussed above that you still have to pay your monthly fees even after having deactivated your listings? By choosing this option,  you can avoid that.

Unlike a professional Amazon seller account, an individual seller account does not have a monthly fee. Instead of the monthly $39.99, individual sellers only have to pay $0.99 for every item sold on Amazon.

Having no active listings means you won’t be making any sales, so why keep paying a hefty monthly fee? Downgrade your seller account to avoid it right away.

To Downgrade Your Amazon Seller Account Follow These Instructions:

  • After logging into your Amazon Seller Central Account, select “Account Info” from the “Settings” drop-down menu in the upper right-hand corner:
  • Now, click on the “Manage” button in the “Your Services” section of the page:
  • Click on “Downgrade”: 
  • Amazon will ask you to confirm your decision. Select “proceed” to downgrade your account

Taking A Break: Temporarily Deactivate Your Listings

Deactivate your Amazon listings temporarily

This option is suitable for sellers who just want to take a break or are going away on holiday. In other words,you want to keep on selling the same product, but just want to pause for a while. You would like things to be just as they are once they are ready to start selling again.

To Make Your Listing(s) Inactive? Follow These Instructions:

  • First of all, go to “Manage Inventory” under the “inventory” tab:
  • You will see a detailed list of all of your product listings. Each listing will have a “Edit” drop-down menu. Find the listing you want to make inactive, and select “Close listing” from this menu:
  • This option makes your listing inactive until you reactivate it again. The deactivation takes effect within 24 hours. 
  • The reactivation process is also pretty simple and takes effect right away (after only 15 minutes). You can relist any inactive item whenever you want.
  • Be careful though, this option does not ask for confirmation and just deactivates the listing right away.

Dead Products: Permanently Delete Your Listings 

Permanently delete your listings

This option is suitable for dead products. If you don’t have hope for a particular product to be able to make substantial sales, it is best to delete its listing. Remember, deleting a listing is different from closing it as you no longer have the option to reactivate it again. 

To Do This, Follow The Instructions Below: 

  • Simply go to “Manage Inventory” under the “inventory” tab:
  • There will be an “Edit” drop-down menu for each one of your listings. Find the listing you want to get rid of and in its menu, select “Delete product and listing”:
  • Selecting this option means that the deleted SKU and its sales history along with product information are all permanently removed from your seller account. 

I recommend you take a moment to think about your decision before selecting this option as there will be no way to go back once the listing has been deleted by Amazon. Moreover, update the inventory quantity of the product to zero before deleting it. 

Product deletion and inventory quantity deletion are two separate things so just taking care of the former won’t let you delete a listing successfully, and the offer will still remain live on the offer listing page.

How To Permanently Cancel Your Amazon Seller Account?

If you close your Amazon account permanently, keep in mind that there is no way to reinstate or reactivate it again. Furthermore, there are a number of other factors to consider and some prerequisite measures to take before you proceed. 

So, How To Cancel Your Amazon Account Permanently? Follow These Instructions:

  • First of all, go to “Account Info” under the “Settings” drop-down menu:
  • Now, click on “Close account” in the right-most section of the page:
  • Fill the required fields and hit “Send” to request Amazon to delete your seller account:

Now, you’ll see this message:

“Amazon will process your request and will either send you a confirmation email stating that your account has been successfully shut down”

 Or, if you don’t meet their criteria – they will notify you of all details regarding why your account cannot be closed. Moreover, they will also recommend you some actions to take in order to meet their eligibility criteria.

If your first attempt to close your account is not successful, implement these recommended steps and request Amazon again to close your account.

Final Thoughts

We all need breaks and it’s not uncommon for sellers to pause their Amazon listings or delete them. Don’t make any hasty decisions as this is very final once completed.

Examine each option thoroughly and think hard about the pros and cons of each options before pulling the trigger on your account. It is likely that you have worked extremely hard to reach this point and invested a lot of time and money into this project. 

It would be a real shame to see all that go to waste if you make a hurried or uninformed impulsive lifestyle choice rather than the professional one that could change the course of this business.

By rushing into a decision you could potentially regret would be foolish so if you have any doubts, make sure you go back to the drawing onboard and reevaluate things. Ultimately, you know aht is best for you and your business.

Don’t forget to take care of all the aforementioned preliminary steps before you proceed to cancel your account.

Scroll to Top